You are here

GFOA Awards

Awards for Excellence in Government Finance

The Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) issues Awards for Excellence in Government Finance that recognize contributions to the practice of government finance that exemplify outstanding financial management. The awards stress practical, documented work that offers leadership to the profession and promotes improved public finance. Entries may be submitted for consideration in any of the following nine categories:

  • Accounting, auditing, and financial reporting
  • Budgeting and financial planning
  • Capital finance and debt administration
  • Economic development and capital planning
  • E-Government and technology
  • Management and service delivery
  • Pensions and benefits
  • Treasury and investment management

Eight criteria are examined when considering an application for the award: local significance and value, technical significance, transferability, documentation, the cost/benefit analysis, efficiency, originality, and durability. Membership in the GFOA is not required to apply for an award; however, nonmembers and students must be sponsored by an active GFOA member.

West Linn Finance has current GFOA awards for the following products:

  • CAFR - Comprehensive Annual Financial Report 
  • PAFR - Popular Annual Financial Report 
  • BUDGET - Biennial Budgets

For more information on the GFOA's award programs, please visit their website at: