You are here
Oregon Accident and Insurance Reports may be obtained at any law enforcement agency, motor vehicles office, or downloaded online here at: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/driverid/accidentreport.shtml
Only drivers involved in an accident resulting in any of the following MUST file an Accident and Insurance Report:
- Damage to your vehicle is over $1,500
- Damage to any one person's property over $1,500
- Any vehicle involved in an accident and is towed from the scene as a result of damages
- Injury (No matter how minor)
Oregon Law requires these reports be filed within 72 hours of the accident excluding holidays and weekends.
If you are unable to file within the 72 hours submit it as soon as possible. If you fail to report the accident to DMV it may result in suspension of your driving privileges.
If the police department files a police report, you are required to file your own Accident and Insurance Report with DMV.
If you are an out-of-state resident, you are required to file your own Accident Report with DMV.