Sex Offenders are classified as Supervised or Unsupervised and they are determined to be Predatory or not.
Supervised or Unsupervised refers to whether the offender is on parole or probation and still reporting to a parole or probation officer.
A predatory classification is determined by supervision officials (corrections or parole and probation officers) based on a number of criteria. These officials are mandated to notify Oregon State Police who in turn notify the agency for the jurisdiction where the offender is going to live. Clackamas County Community Corrections developed a plan for community notification to comply with Senate Bill 444 which dictates notification of communities when predatory or sexually violent, dangerous offenders are planning to reside near locations where children are the primary occupants or users.
Offenders are required to register with Law Enforcement annually within 10 days of their birthday. Failure to comply is a misdemeanor crime. They are also required to register within 10 days of changing their address. Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony crime.
PROCEDURES FOR CITIZENS TO OBTAIN INFORMATION ABOUT SEX OFFENDERS IN YOUR NEIGHBORHOOD
Information available changes based on case law and current rulings. Information may or may not be completely reliable because the offender may have reported a change of address after the report was printed, may have provided false information, or may have moved and failed to report a change of address.
The most current information on properly registered sex offenders can be obtained by calling:
OREGON STATE POLICE ~ sex offender recording at
1-503-378-3725 Extension 4429
Leave your name, address and zip code and the information on sex offenders registered in that zip code area will be mailed to you. This information is maintained and updated daily by OSP.
An online private site is: www.criminalcheck.com
This information is maintained by Free PublicData and may or may not be current.
An additional site: www.familywatchdog.us
is a national sex offender registry.
Many states list the names and addresses of registered sex offenders on their website, but Oregon does not.