You are here

Don't Let the Thrill of the Ride Turn Into a Tragedy

Don't forget the head gear! Oregon law requires bicyclists, skateboarders, scooter riders and in-line skaters under the age of 16 wear approved protective headgear anytime you are operating on a highway or premises open to the public.  This means any street or parking lot such as Safeway or Albertsons as well as the Skate Park on Parker Road.  Anyone operating these devices, regardless of age should wear protective headgear, but the law only covers those under 16.  Not wearing protective headgear can result in a fine of up to $25.  If you are 11 years of age or younger your parents will be getting that citation, but parents can be cited for any age child up to 16 years old. Many people don’t realize Oregon law also requires bicycle riders operating on a street obey all traffic laws. This means obeying traffic signals, road markings and signs (which includes stopping at all stop signs), riding on the right with traffic, using correct hand signals, and yielding to pedestrians. Be safe, be aware of your surroundings, and don’t forget the helmet!